Multidisciplinary database provides full text for more than 1,750 general reference publications with full text information dating as far back as 1975. Covering virtually every subject area of general interest, MasterFILE Premier also includes nearly 500 full text reference books, full text from 86,019 biographies, 105,787 full text primary source documents, and an Image Collection of 293,480 photos, maps and flags. (EBSCOhost)
The new VIVA Faculty Textbook Portal is a catalog designed to assist VCCS faculty in finding and selecting open and affordable textbooks for their courses in one place. The Portal is part of a wide-scale Open and Affordable Initiative by VIVA to provide no-cost and barrier-free access to course curriculum resources for students and researchers. The Portal contains over 200,000 titles from VIVA’s shared library collections, open access textbooks, and ebooks available for VIVA to purchase on behalf of members throughout the state. Please note: The Portal is for faculty members at public institutions within the state of Virginia only.
Please note: The Portal is for faculty members at public institutions within the state of Virginia only.
New / Trial Databases
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
This collection brings together approximately 1.5 million pages of primary sources on social, political, health, and legal issues impacting LGBTQ communities around the world. Rare and unique content from microfilm, newsletters, organizational papers, government documents, manuscripts, pamphlets, and other types of primary sources sheds light on the gay rights movement, activism, the HIV/AIDS crisis, and more.
A collection of manuscripts, monographs, newspapers, photographs, motion pictures, images of artwork, and more that increase understanding of the historical experiences, cultural traditions and innovations, and political status of Indigenous Peoples in the United States and Canada.
PrepStep can help improve core academic skills, score higher on college placement tests, explore careers, prepare for occupational exams and build workplace skills. Includes practice exams for TEAS, CLEP, PRAXIS and NCLEX tests.