Disabilty Services

The Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) protects people with disabilities from discrimination. Disability rights are civil rights. From voting to parking, the ADA is a law that protects people with disabilities in many areas of public life.

Source: www.ada.gov

• A Guide for People with Disabilities Seeking Employment

  This document contains information for people with disabilities seeking employment. It provides a general explanation of the employment provisions of the ADA and how to file a complaint with the Equal Employment Opportunity Commission.

• ADA Checklist for Polling Places

  This document discusses polling place accessibility with a focus on the areas of a facility that may be used on Election Day. It also includes a list of the tools election officials will need in order to use the Checklist, as well as other helpful tips.

• ADA Compliance Brief: Restriping Parking Spaces

  This document provides information about the features of accessible car and van parking spaces and how many accessible spaces are required when parking facilities are restriped.

• ADA Guide for Places of Lodging: Serving Guests Who Are Blind or Who Have Low Vision

  A publication explaining what hotels, motels, and other places of transient lodging can do to accommodate guests who are blind or have low vision.

• ADA Requirements: Testing Accommodations

  This document provides technical assistance on testing accommodations for individuals with disabilities who take standardized exams and other high-stakes tests.

• ADA Requirements: Accessible Pools Means of Entry and Exit

  This guidance is designed to help title II and title III entities understand how new ADA requirements for swimming pools apply to them.

• ADA Requirements: Effective Communication

  This publication is designed to help title II and title III entities understand how the rules for effective communication apply to them.

• ADA Requirements: Service Animals

  The Department of Justice published revised final regulations implementing the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) for title II (State and local government services) and title III (public accommodations and commercial facilities) on September 15, 2010, in the Federal Register.

• ADA Requirements: Ticket Sales

  This publication provides guidance on the Department's nondiscrimination requirements that apply to selling tickets for assigned seats at events such as concerts, plays, and sporting events.

• ADA Requirements: Wheelchairs, Mobility Aids, and Other Power-Driven Mobility Devices

  This document is designed to help title II entities (State and local governments) and title III entities (businesses and non-profit organizations that serve the public) understand how the new rules for other power driven mobility devices apply to them.

• ADA Title III Technical Assistance Manual

  This document explains what businesses and non-profit agencies must do to ensure access to their goods, services, and facilities.

• ADA Update: A Primer for Small Business

  This document provides general guidance to assist small businesses in understanding and complying with the ADA's requirements.

• ADA Update: A Primer for State and Local Governments

  This document provides general guidance to assist State and local governments in understanding and complying with the ADA's requirements.

• Access for 9-1-1 and Telephone Emergency Services

  A publication explaining the requirements for direct, equal access to 9-1-1 for persons who use teletypewriters (TTYs).

• Access to Medical Care for Individuals with Mobility Disabilities

  This document provides guidance for medical care providers on the requirements of the ADA in medical settings with respect to people with mobility disabilities.

• Accessibility of State and Local Government Websites to People with Disabilities

  A publication providing guidance on making State and local government websites accessible

• Algorithms, Artificial Intelligence, and Disability Discrimination in Hiring

  This guidance explains how algorithms and artificial intelligence can lead to disability discrimination in hiring.

• Ballot Box Accessibility

  This publication includes a survey to guide election officials in evaluating the accessibility of ballot drop boxes used or being considered for use in elections and is a companion piece to the ADA Checklist for Polling Places.

• COVID-19 and the Americans with Disabilities Act

  COVID-19 and the Americans with Disabilities Act —view information about streateries and medical setting visitor policies.

• Commonly Asked Questions About the ADA and Law Enforcement

  This publication is designed to answer questions and offer common sense suggestions to assist law enforcement agencies in complying with the ADA.

• Commonly Asked Questions about Child Care Centers and the Americans with Disabilities Act

  This publication explains how the requirements of the ADA apply to child care centers.

• Communicating with People Who Are Deaf or Hard of Hearing - ADA Guide for Law Enforcement Officers

  This document provides guidance to both persons with disabilities and law enforcement agencies regarding their rights and responsibilities under the ADA.

• Frequently Asked Questions about Service Animals and the ADA

  This document provides guidance and answers about the ADA's service animal provisions.

• Guidance on Nondiscrimination in Telehealth: Federal Protections to Ensure Accessibility to People with Disabilities and Limited English Proficient Persons

  This guidance explains how various federal laws require making telehealth accessible to people with disabilities and limited English proficient persons.

• Guidance on Web Accessibility and the ADA

  The Department of Justice published guidance on web accessibility and the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA).  It explains how state and local governments (entities covered by ADA Title II) and businesses open to the public (entities covered by ADA Title III) can make sure their websites are accessible to people with disabilities in line with the ADA’s requirements.

• Guide to Disability Rights Laws

  A guidance document that provides a brief overview of ten Federal laws that protect the rights of people with disabilities and provides information about the Federal agencies to contact for more information.

• Model Policy for Law Enforcement on Communicating with People Who are Deaf or Hard of Hearing

  This document serves a model for law enforcement agencies when adopting a policy on effective communication with people who are deaf or hard of hearing.

• Protecting the Rights of Parents and Prospective Parents with Disabilities: Technical Assistance for State and Local Child Welfare Agencies and Courts under Title II of the Americans with Disabilities Act and Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act

  Jointly issued technical assistance from the Department of Justice and the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services’ Office for Civil Rights and Administration for Children and Families to help child welfare agencies and family courts understand their obligations under Federal law to ensure that parents and prospective parents with disabilities receive equal treatment and equal access to parenting opportunities.

• Questions and Answers: The ADA and Hiring Police Officers

  This document features questions and answers raised by police departments regarding officers rights related to hiring officers under the ADA.

• Questions and Answers: Accessibility Requirements for Existing Swimming Pools at Hotels and Other Public Accommodations

  This document provides answers to some common questions regarding requirements in the 2010 regulations and Standards as they apply to public accommodations with existing pools.

• Solutions for Five Common ADA Access Problems at Polling Places

  This document discusses physical barriers to access to voters with disabilities in five commonly found areas at polling places and offers solutions for addressing them.

• Statement of the Department of Justice on Enforcement of the Integration Mandate of Title II of the Americans with Disabilities Act and Olmstead v. L.C.

  This technical assistance guide is created to assist individuals in understanding their rights and public entities in understanding their obligations under the ADA and Olmstead.

• The ADA and City Governments: Common Problems

  This document outlines common problems shared by city governments of all sizes and provides examples of common deficiencies and explains how these problems affect persons with disabilities.

• The ADA and Opioid Use Disorder: Combating Discrimination Against People in Treatment or Recovery

  This guidance document provides information about how the ADA can protect individuals with OUD from discrimination — an important part of combating the opioid epidemic across American communities.

• The Americans with Disabilities Act and Other Federal Laws Protecting the Rights of Voters with Disabilities

  This document provides guidance on how the ADA and other Federal laws protect the rights of voters with disabilities.

Source: www.ada.gov