Noodle Tools Citation – a citation tool generator for MLA, APA, and Chicago style
manuals.
OCLC Word Cat – a catalog to find resources in the Worlds libraries so your library
staff can locate a resource in another library and borrow it on your behalf – ask your
library staff at Wampler Library about interlibrary loan service.
Purdue OWL – Purdue Online Writing Lab provides information on writing, research,
and citation.
Google Scholar – search for articles and case law on Google Scholar, a search engine
which seeks scholarly literature.
Library staff is available for Information Literacy Instruction (ILI) sessions! Topics range from citation and electronic research resources to deep web mining and advanced information search and retrieval techniques, but specialized sessions can be customized for any ILI topic and class length. Whether you need a session or workshop for a regular on-campus class, a faculty meeting in an academic department, an off-campus session for dual enrollment classes, or any other MECC-affiliated or community organization, call 276-523-8220 about scheduling an Information Literacy Instruction session.
The Archive is located in Room 221 of the Wampler Library and may be accessed during the library’s hours of operation. Archival materials are non-circulating. The Wampler Library and Archives houses the archives and research collections for the Wise County Historical Society (WCHS) and Center for Melungeon Research (CMR).
Any records protected by law, such as official student records, are not available. In addition to records maintained at the College, other documents are preserved at the Library of Virginia as mandated by state law.
Mountain Empire Community College Archives Mission Statement (Revised 06/14)
The Mountain Empire Community College Archives collects, organizes, preserves, and makes available materials which document the history and culture of the college and service region.
The mission of the Wampler Library is to provide materials and services which support not only the educational programs of the College but also provide broad exposure to various disciplines, cultures, and ways of understanding. The library houses over 42,000 print and 74,000 electronic book volumes, 100+ print and 92,000+ electronic magazine, journal, and newspaper issues; 31,000+ digital/electronic media; and 8,000+ reels of microfilm. In addition, the library provides access to 117 electronic research databases licensed by the VCCS and the Library of Virginia, as well as to the vast electronic resources of VIVA (The Virtual Library of Virginia). All library collections are accessible online at https://www.mecc.edu/library/.
For more information about the Wampler Library polices, visit www.mecc.edu/library/wampler-library-policies.