Skip to Main Content 
Digital Reference
- CQ Researcher - CQ Researcher provides award winning in-depth coverage of the most important issues of the day. Our reports are written by experienced journalists, footnoted and professionally fact-checked. Full-length articles include an overview, historical background, chronology, pro/con feature, plus resources for additional research. Graphics, photos and short "sidebar" features round out the reports. Shorter "Hot Topics" articles provide a solid introduction to subjects most in demand by students.
- Credo Reference - Credo's Core Collections enable libraries to build deep, specific full- text collections from highly regarded publishers around the world. The Academic Core Collection covers the primary disciplines of Higher Education, providing students with the tools they need to perform research at any level of study. With regular updates, this Collection includes 3 million entries from notable subject encyclopedias, handbooks, guides, companions and readers covering over 80 major subject disciplines and more than 6 million research concepts. In addition to full-text content, the Academic Core Collection provides access to more than 1,000 videos and animations, as well as 500,000 contextual visual aids, images, photographs and maps.
- Gale Virtual Reference – provides electronic articles on multiple disciplinary topics.
- Oxford Reference - provides multidisciplinary topics from Oxford University Press reference publications.
- Salem Press – provides online access to topics in history and careers.
- MasterFile Premier - Multidisciplinary database provides full text for more than 1,750 general reference publications with full text information dating as far back as 1975. Covering virtually every subject area of general interest, MasterFILE Premier also includes nearly 500 full text reference books, full text from 86,019 biographies, 105,787 full text primary source documents, and an Image Collection of 293,480 photos, maps and flags. (EBSCOhost)
- ProQuest Dissertations - an online database that indexes, abstracts, and provides full- text access to dissertations and theses. The database includes over 2.4 million records and covers 1637 to the present. It is produced by ProQuest and was formerly known as ProQuest Digital Dissertations.
- Encyclopedia Virginia - an authoritative and user-friendly resource on the history and culture of Virginia.
Books & eBooks
- Wampler Library Catalog - There are two ways in which you can access the books and ebooks of Wampler Library with the Library Primo Catalog Search which also included books, ebooks, audiovisual, and journal articles in a single search or with the Wampler Library Catalog Search which will locate all Wampler Library holding except journal articles. This database included a basic search option as well as an advanced search option.
- EBSCOHost eBooks – Features ebooks for both fiction and nonfiction in various genres and covering various disciplines.
- Oxford eBooks (Oxford Scholarship Online)- Features ebooks for both fiction and nonfiction in various genres and covering various disciplines.
- Proquest eBook Library - Features ebooks for both fiction and nonfiction in various genres and covering various disciplines.
- Springer Science eBooks - Features ebooks for both fiction and nonfiction in various genres and covering various disciplines.
- Safari Books Online – Features ebooks for technology, digital media, and business.
- APA PsycNET eBooks – Features ebooks and journals in the psychology and related disciplines.
- VCCS eBook LibGuide – Alphabetical list of eBook Collections provided by the Virginia Community College System which gives a brief description of the collections.
Journals
- Health Source Nursing - Provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition also features the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names. (EBSCOhost)
- Academic Search - Multi-disciplinary scholarly article database with 4,600+ peer- reviewed journals. (EBSCOhost)
- Oxford Journals - Offers online access to 134 periodical titles in the fields of the humanities, social sciences, and the sciences. The full text of these online journals is generally available for the past several years, though abstracts of articles date back additional years. Articles are available in PDF and/or HTML formats. (Oxford University Press)
- Wiley Journals - Upgraded in 2016 to offer expanded access to all but one of Wiley’s current e-journals, The Journal of the European Economic Association. Journals cover a variety of disciplines, including the fields of arts and humanities, business and economics, engineering, law, medicine, social sciences, sciences, and technology. (Wiley InterScience)
- Education Research - Online resource for education research. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. Education Research Complete provides indexing and abstracts for more than 1,840 journals, as well as full text for more than 950 journals, and includes full text for more than 81 books and monographs, and for numerous education-related conference papers. (EBSCOhost)
- Encyclopedia Virginia - Encyclopedia Virginia (EV) is a free, publicly accessible online publication of the Virginia Foundation for the Humanities in partnership with the Library of Virginia. EV has published more than 200 peer-reviewed, fact-checked entries related to the Civil War in America. Topics include: The Civil War in Virginia, Robert E. Lee, Battle of the Crater, Elizabeth Van Lew, The Lost Cause, Confederate Battle Flag, Slavery During the Civil War, Ladies’ Memorial Associations, and Medicine During the Civil War.
- Humanities International - Covers all aspects of the humanities, with worldwide content pertaining to literary, scholarly and creative thought. Provides full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world. (EBSCOHost)
- EBSCO Legal - Provides information centered on the discipline of law and legal topics such as criminal justice, international law, federal law, organized crime, medical, labor & human resource law, ethics, and the environment. The collection of scholarly peer- reviewed publications includes law journals, documents, and case studies. (EBSCOhost)
- VCCS Subject LibGuide – An alphabetical list of library eResources provided by the Virginia Community College System by subjects.
Databases & Digital Resources
Databases:
- Newsbank – provides two sources of news – America’s Historical Newspapers (1690 – 2000) with news articles covering topics in government, politics, social issues, culture, literature discoveries, inventions from primary resources and Access World News, a comprehensive news collection on the local, regional, national and international levels. World News Digest – Provides international coverage of current news headlines and articles accessible by country, people, and topic as well as landmark events, and resources.
- Newspaper Source Plus - Provides cover-to-cover full text for 131 national & international newspapers, including The New York Times, The Boston Globe, San Francisco Chronicle, The Christian Science Monitor, USA Today, The Washington Post, The Washington Times, and The Times (London). Also contains selective full text for more than 335 U.S newspapers. In addition, full-text television & radio news transcripts are provided from ABC News, CBS News, CNN, FOX News, National Public Radio (NPR), etc. (EBSCOhost)
- ProQuest Literature Online – provides electronic access to the full test of more than 350,000 works of poetry, drama, and prose from the eighth century to the present day as well as scholarly articles and reviews.
- Gale Literature Resource Center – provides electronic access to the broadest and most representative range of authors and their works including a deep collection of full-text critical and literary analysis.
- Opposing Viewpoints – Gale’s online resource covering today's hottest social issues which includes viewpoints, reference articles, infographics, news, images, video, audio, and more for argumentative / issue papers and debates.
- Issues and Controversies - an online database resources which helps researchers understand today’s crucial issues by exploring hundreds of hot topics in politics, government, business, society, education, and popular culture. It presents the key facts, arguments, history, and current context of today’s most important and timely issues.
- African American History – provides maps, charts, primary sources, slideshow overviews, timelines, Topics A to Z, and videos on African American history.
- American Indian History – provides maps, charts, primary sources, slideshow overviews, timelines, Topics A to Z, and videos on American Indian history.
Digital Subscriptions:
- Statista – a database providing statistics, reports, infographics, and surveys for 600 industries and more than 50 countries.
- Films on Demand – a database providing over 32,000 educational films on multiple disciplines.
- Nursing Ed in Video – a database providing over 300 videos for nursing education.
- American History in Video – a database providing over 8, 000 videos for American history.
- Polling the Nations – a database of public opinion polls containing the full text of 700,000+ questions and responses, from 18,000+ surveys and 1,700+ polling organizations, conducted from 1986 through the present in the United States and more than 100 other countries around the world.
- ENG 111/112 LibGuide – a suggested list of resources for the English 111/112 classes.
- Ancestry Library Edition – a database for family / genealogy research – can ONLY be accessed in Wampler Library.
- Heritage Quest Online – a database for family / genealogy research – can ONLY be accessed in Wampler Library.
